Courage…….

Cindy Lantier is with us today sharing her thoughts on sumMEr. Another friend I have never met but have a strong kinship and connection. I am sure you will feel the same as you read her words, nodding in agreement. After watching her video you will feel as if you know her, too.

I recently received some disturbing health-related news. While helping me process my thoughts and feelings, a friend commented that I have excellent self-care skills; I already know how I need to take care of myself to get through this rough spot.

 

To be honest, I was kind of surprised to hear that, because I’d never evaluated my self-care skills before. But while I was contemplating this, I realized — Don’t we all know, on some level, how we can best care for ourselves? Don’t we know, even if only deep down, what we need in order to move forward with our best lives?

 

For me the hard part isn’t knowing how to meet my needs; it’s finding the courage to do so. I know that changes in my eating and activity habits would probably help with my pain and energy levels, regardless of what my diagnosis turns out to be. And yet, I’m hesitant to invest the energy (both physical and mental) to make those changes. Why is that? I have lots of little reasons, but they all boil down to “It’ll be hard.” (Can’t you just hear me whining as I type that?)

 

Self-care is not just about self-pampering or self-indulgence (In fact, some would argue that it’s about neither of those things.) Sometimes self-care is about making difficult decisions and applying discipline and commitment.

 

And that’s not nearly as much fun as a mani-pedi is!

 

I’d like to invite you to join me as I spend this summer working on one specific aspect of my self-care. I’ll admit: This video is all about me; I didn’t want to project my issue onto you — especially if it’s not one of your problems! Even so, I think you might relate.

 

(INSERT VIDEO HERE) (http://youtu.be/8V5G7ynBRWk)

 

Drop me a line and let me know if you have any suggestions for finding the courage to honor your self-care commitments — I need all the help I can get!

 

Web: http://www.lantier.org

Email: cindy(at)lantier(dot)org

 

 

Cindy Jones Lantier

Mixed Grill Favorites

cindy@lantier.org

Mixed Grill Favorites Blog

Life is a great adventure or nothing.

– Helen Keller

 

8 thoughts on “Courage…….

  1. Oh, Cindy, I know what you mean…I have lupus and I know if I focused on a healthier diet, I probably would feel better, but yes, it is hard, darn it! I go in spurts where I really feel like helping myself feel better is a priority and then it’s just easier sometimes to eat the bowl of peanut butter chocolate ice cream that I just had. I hope you find little things to continue to do to take care of yourself, especially as you figure out what’s going on with your health.

    Jill

  2. Brave written & video post, thank you, Cindy. I have grown much in self-care & have room for more improvement. One of the most helpful things I am currently doing is reading “Manifest Your Desires,” a beautifully painted little book that shifts my feelings as I read snippets and write & draw in my “notebook of positive aspects.” I am finding it really helps me to feel better, which leads to better choices. BEST to you.

  3. Motivation … Logic… Give me options ….
    Motivate for a moment
    Logic makes it happen
    Option to give it a go
    My options logically tell me Motivate
    so lets Dance for a Moment ?
    wow it feels great Well done You are great .

Leave a Reply

